Welcome to St-Malo

The French glass community is very happy to organize in France, the 15th International Conference on the Physics of Non-Crystalline Solids and the 14th European Society of Glass Conference in St Malo between July 8 and 13th.


The 15th International Conference on the Physics of Non-Crystalline Solids is the continuation of a series of successful meetings started by Professor V.D. Fréchette (USA), in 1958. 14 conferences have been organized subsequently, with the latest one organized by Professor Cormack, from Alfred University (USA) in 2015. Continuing the tradition, PNCS XV will provide an international forum for the most recent developments on the physics of non-crystalline materials. ESG Conference, is the largest meeting organised by The European Glass Society. The aim of this conference is to present and discuss ways to improve the quality and the performance of glass products in their various applications. The conference will maintain the quality of the previous congresses while incorporating new features to learn about the latest developments in glass technology and European Regulations.


The PNCS and ESG communities are both interested in glass with slightly different scientific or technological emphases, and lots of topics can be shared by the two conferences. By organizing jointly the PNCS and ESG, we give the opportunity for the international glass community to meet in a very nice area, for fruitful scientific and technological exchanges as well as for French food specialty. We hope that you can come and enjoy these joint meetings. 


We are also very proud that during the St-Malo Glass meeting, three prestigious prizes will be awarded: by DGG, The Otto Schott Award; by the SGT,  the Pilkington Award and the USTV PhD Thesis Award.


More than 400 participants are expected in St Malo and near 400 papers will be given in oral form and more than 100 posters will be presented. Major international brands will also exposed their latest products. Highlights of the congress include the Plenary lecture of Alicia Duran, Steve Elliot, Neville Greaves, Annie Pradel, Jianrong Qiu, Kathleen Richardson, Daniel Ricoult, Hajime Tanaka, and Edgar Zanotto. We can also mention Austin Angell who will receive the Otto Schott Award. Several major themes will structure the congress and several parallel sessions will focus on: Basic Glass Science, Special Glasses, Glass Application, Glass Properties, Melting Technology, Heritage, History, Scholar.


We also want to thank our many sponsors : CEA, Corning, Perkin-Elmer, Horiba, Schott, Thorlabs, AGC, Arc, IXBLUE, AMTS, Ametek Land, Heraeus, LumaSense Technologies, Linseis, Air Products, Journal of Non-Crystalline Solids, Andor, Saint-Gobain, Glass Service, Quartz, Université de Rennes 1, Université Bretagne Loire and Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris. We want to warmly thank our partners: International Commission on Glass, The American Ceramics Society, and Glass Worlwide.


Bienvenue, Welcome to St-Malo, and we hope that all participants in the St Malo Glass-Meeting will be delighted by the location on the seafront, the quality of the food and especially the many gourmet regional specialists, and also the quality of life “à la française” but also the high scientific value of the presentations.


Dr. D.R Neuville

Chair of ESG 2018


Dr. X.H. Zhang

Chair of PNCS 2018


Dr. L. Cormier

Chair of the local organizing committee